Who Made Your Pants?

Gorgeous Pants. By women, for women.

Too good to be true?

As anyone who has been reading this regularly will know, funding has been a constant nightmare. We are aiming to be absolutely self sustaining, and will pay for all the training etc we give the women out of profits, but right now, we have to rely on grants as we are not generating very much income at all. We’ve been awarded (not yet received it all though) just about £60k, and I am proud to say I have made every pound work as hard as two, and I’ve managed, with the help of a brilliant bunch of volunteers giving up their time, to get a lot done.

What I haven’t managed to do much of is generate very much money to pay me personally. It’s easier to get money for a thing that people can see (capital expenditure) than a salary for a person (revenue expenditure) I have been paid very very little – just enough to pay my mortgage really, and I’ve topped it up with freelance work here and there and an occasional lodger. I knew I’d be very poor when I came into this (poor being relative after all, I have wireless internet and a spare room and a roof and running water which make me pretty damn rich really) and I’m not unhappy about it generally – but a possibility has been extended and it’s so tantalising, it would be so brilliant, that I can hardly bear it.

I have got through to the final stage of the UnLtd Level 2 award competition. 70 people applied for £15keach, to go to them, the entrepreneur rather than the business. And I am one of the 12 who has made it to the final stage. I have to go to London on the 5th November and do a 5 minute presentation and then have an interview, and 7 of the 12 will be awarded the money. The email Ihad from them said, ‘I’d like to congratulate you on getting to this final stage. It’s a great achievement and a great endorsement of your work as one of the countries leading social entrepreneurs’ – which is a pretty stunning thing to read.

Ever since I first heard I’d made it through the first stage, I’ve been numb about this. I can’t let myself think it might work out in case it doesn’t. But what if it did? It would make things so much easier, so very much easier. I hate having to go and other work, I really like this work. And I hate having no money to fix the boiler when it breaks. It would be so, so helpful.

So – I wanted to share the good news and if anyone wants to send me happy positive vibes on the 5th November, I will need them,. I’ll be walking around London in a frock and heels so will need help to stay upright if nothing else!

More on the awards here…

http://www.unltd.org.uk/template.php?ID=128&PageName=level2awardsv2

Filed under: Uncategorized,

9 Responses

  1. Nina Lambert says:

    Brilliant, Becky – nothing more than you deserve, though.

    I’ve got all my fingers and toes crossed for you

    Nina

  2. Nick Kilby says:

    Go girl go! You’ve overcome bigger challenges than this so just do your stuff. Keep calm, I’ll send you some chamomile tea! Good Luck

    Nick

  3. fang says:

    I’m convinced you’ll be fine ! I’ll cross my fingers for you the whole day 🙂 Good Luck

  4. Clair says:

    *fingers crossed*

  5. Lepsa says:

    Dear Becky,
    Great to hear about you getting into finals! I wish you good luck.

    Lepsa

  6. Jay says:

    Good luck Becky

  7. Mr Stuff says:

    Well done Becky. Good luck on the 5th and if you need cat sitting services give me a shout 🙂

Leave a Reply

