Who Made Your Pants?

Gorgeous Pants. By women, for women.

Fit, Sizing and riding up

We’ve been asked a few times recently about the fit of our pants, specifically about the question of ‘riding up’ and so I think the time has come to write a bit more in depth about our styling, sizing and fit.

 

Our two current styles, Aimee and Rosalind, are both designed to fit and cling closely without any elastic to hold the pants up. The stretch and cling all comes from the fabric. To make the fit perfect, we fit a size ten on our designer, and a size 16 on me, and that way we know that our styles work for real women at either end of our size range.

 

Neither of our styles gives full coverage of the bum – the back panels sort of skim across halfway down the buttock, and this is where the scalloping on our lace ensures no VPL.

 

Now. What that doesn’t tell you is that our pants have a centre seam. This is – and there really is no other way to say this without sounding like a double meaning is intended – a divisive issue. Some women love it, and find it perfectly comfortable. I honestly can’t feel my pants on me right now, and I am concentrating on trying to! Other women can’t bear it. In many cases, this relates to women who are used to a traditional ‘brief’ shape which has elastic at the waist and leg, a single panel of fabric going from side seam to side seam, and gives quite full coverage. If that’s what you are used to, our pants will absolutely feel different on. This centre seam is part of what makes the fit so good but it has to be said, it is designed to, er, fit snugly between the buttocks, and so, what I might feel as ‘snug’ someone else might feel as ‘riding up’

 

Saying all of the above, we’ve reviews on our site by women who have loved their comfort while running marathons and doing zumba classes.

 

I think what it all comes own to is personal preference. And what you’re used to. If you have worn centre seam type shorts from other places, and know what you are getting in terms of fit, then I would be confident you’ll be happy with our pants. If you are looking for something a bit more ‘brief’ type, I’d say watch this space until we bring out side seamed pants.

 

In all cases, do do please be aware that our sizes are designed to CLING and the pants WILL fall down if you buy them too big. We’ve been told by a number of women that they ‘always’ buy pants a size too big to prevent digging in. No elastic = no digging in so that problem isn’t going to occur, but you may well find the pants move about and feel a bit odd if you buy too big a size. If you’re an M&S/Next type of shopper buy your usual size. If you’re between sizes, go down not up. If you are a Top Shop/Miss Selfridge/Zara type shopper, you may find our sizes a bit generous, so again, go down a size rather than up.

 

We’re ALWAYS happy to talk through any sizing questions over the phone – call us on 023 80225536 We aim to make every day a good pants day – let us make than happen for you!

 

Becky

Filed under: Uncategorized, , , , , , ,

10 Responses

  1. Mags says:

    Thanks!! I’m on the list for side seam pants. I’m still deciding about the forgetaboutability of my current pair – but I didn’t realise they were made to “skim across halfway down the buttock”. I thought my cheeks were just too large!! Now that I know they’re *supposed* to be like that it puts a whole different spin on my consideration. I thought I should go a size up, but after reading this I fitted them to my M&S briefs (both size 14) and they’re exactly the same size. I’ve bought another pair 😀

    • Sally says:

      Me too! For the first 10 minutes I kept pulling them down to cover my bum but then they didn’t sit right. Now I’m skimming and they’re fab!

  2. Sally says:

    I hesitated about buying your pants because of the centre seam, I’ve always worn cotton briefs that cover your bum and couldn’t abide anything that felt like it was venturing into thong territory! However, I loved the look of the pants so much that when you had your seconds sale I crumbled. I ordered a size smaller than normal because I’m losing weight but actually they are a perfect fit (I was an M&S knicker buyer so you’re spot on there!) And despite my initial reservation they are super comfy! When I put the first pair on they felt different and I was sure they’d be uncomfortable but a couple of hours later I suddenly remembered I had them on – I’d totally forgotten about them, they were so so comfortable, even with jeans. Now I’m hooked especially as hubby says they look so much nicer than the old ones! I

  3. real woman says:

    I’m waiting for you to increase your size range up to a 32. Should I hold my breath?

    • beckypants says:

      Hello! So sorry for the tardy reply, wordpress had a moment recently and we’ve been locked out!

      Right now, the reality is that we have no plans to increase the size range. We are a tiny, tiny business, and we only sell around five pairs – tops – of size 18 a month. Some months we sell none at all. And so we can’t absorb the costs we’d incur to increase the range. We do get occasional queries, such as from your good self and I have added you to a waiting list. But it would just be too expensive for us to do at the moment. Not the answer you want but an answer. And again, sorry for the delay At least we’re back in wordpress again!

  4. Su says:

    And I’m waiting for you to take your size range down to a 6! Any chance of that?

    • beckypants says:

      Sadly the response is the same as for the larger sizes – we get so very few requests for them that the associated costs (revising the patterns, creating extra storage in the stock room, getting extra labels printed etc) are disproportionate and so are prohobitive. As an example, we have had about three enquiries for size 6 this year. We have to buy a minimum of 200 size labels per size at a time. So even if all three of you bought all one each of of our pants, we’d still have 125 labels bought and paid for, but sitting doing nothing. When we are bigger we hope to be able to offer options to suit more people 🙂

  5. Mei says:

    Hi there,
    Is there a chance that you’re going to be making size 6 pants in the future? My size 8 Aimees are lovely but sadly a bit too big. (In a few years I’ll probably WISH a size 8 would fit but well, seventeen-year-old me wants to wear them too!)

  6. beckypants says:

    Thanks for your comments Mei – love that you want them and do watch this space x

Leave a Reply

