Who Made Your Pants?

Gorgeous Pants. By women, for women.

What do *we* have a position on?

Recently, at the WOW Festival, I met tons of amazing women doing amazing things. I had fantastic conversations about all kinds of projects. Lots of people asked us to work with them.

I wasn’t really sure how to respond.

When I write this blog, I’m really aware that *I* am writing it, but Who Made Your Pants? is very definitely about *we*. And *we* have lots of different views. We are Muslim and athiest, vegetarian and meat eating, feminist and not. So WMYP is neither religious nor athiest, it takes no stance on meat eating and while we’ve been called a feminist business, we don’t call ourselves that.

When *we* came out in support of No More Page 3, it was because we all agreed. And so *we* supported it. But when we’re approached about other projects, I often don’t have an answer. *I* need to check with everyone to find out what *we* think and if *we* don’t have an agreed position, then *we* don’t have a position.

I know that a lot of you out there supporting us would identify as feminist and I personally absolutely do. You’ll appreciate that there have been expectations placed on us that *we* would naturally support certain campaigns. What I personally might support is one thing but I hope you can see that *we* have a huge variety of views as women, and so we’re not going to have a view as an organisation if it doesn’t chime for us all. At the risk of sounding very cagey, there are security concerns to bear in mind. The last thing I want to do is talk on behalf of *us* about something that is going to put a colleague of mine at risk.

Over the next while, *we* are going to be talk about a number of projects we’ve been approached about. If you’re waiting for a response from me, please bear with me. We’re working this out as we go.

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

